Researcher biography

Dr Ruifeng Yan received the B. Eng. (Hons.) degree in Automation from University of Science and Technology, Beijing, China, in 2004, the M. Eng degree in Electrical Engineering from the Australian National University, Canberra, Australia, in 2007 and PhD in Power and Energy Systems from the University of Queensland, Australia, in 2012. He is currently an ARC DECRA Fellow and Senior Lecturer in the School of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering in the University of Queensland. His expertise includes renewable energy integration to power grids, big data mining in power systems, and network strength and stability analysis. He collaborates with power industries on a range of projects, such as Distribution PMU with Energy Queensland and Noja Power, Energy of Future with Powerlink, Manitoba Hydro and QGE, Smart Meter with Redback, and Wind Integration Potential with Hydro Tasmania, AEMO and Vestas. He has published over 65 papers in the field of power systems, which have been cited by a number of top power utilities, national labs and academic institutes. He is currently served as an Associate Editor of an international journal – CSEE JPES. He was also the key Committee Member and Treasurer of IEEE QLD Section, APPEEC 2015 and AUPEC 2016.

2022: A New Testing Platform for Hybrid Solar Farm Pre-commissioning (ARENA, 2021/ARP018)

2020: Enabling the Power systems of the Future (Advance Queensland Platform Technology Project)

2018: ARC Discovery Early Career Researcher Award - DECRA (DE180101118)

2018: EAIT New Staff Research Start-Up Grant (NS-1804)

2015: Outstanding Contribution Award from IEEE QLD Section for contribution toward PES chapter and organising the 2015 APPEEC conference

2014, 2015: ResTeach Award

2013: New Staff Research Start-up Grant; His student Alasdair Cameron won "Best Data Driven & Analytics Project 2013 (Deloitte Prize) for his thesis

2012: UQ Dean's Award for Research Higher Degree Excellence

2011: IEEE Power & Energy Society (PES) Queensland Chapter Student Conference Travel Prize; His student Christopher Tjah Tjin Ho won Electrical Branch Medal from Engineers Australia and Energex prize for his undergraduate thesis research

2010: His student Matthew Zillmann won Electrical Branch Medal from Engineers Australia and Energex prize for his undergraduate thesis research

2009: Australian Postgraduate Award

2007: The Australian National University, College of Engineering and Computer Science Postgraduate Scholarship

Featured projects Duration
Power Quality Meter

Areas of research